The Power Of Every Day

Purpose.com Pumpkinfest

Purpose.com Pumpkinfest (Photo credit: leesean)

Intentions that are not tied to any greater purpose will be acted on for a time with “will power.”  However, “will power” will not be enough to sustain the action over time.

In order to achieve our desired outcomes, we must have our goals tied to a greater purpose.  Once we do, we will act upon our daily action items with “purpose” not “will power.”  With purpose the action items will become permanent changes that will ultimately manifest the lifestyle and benefits we are seeking.

Here is an example from an experiment I conducted in my first week of this productivity challenge:

My goal is to achieve a weight of 140 lbs.  My plan is to follow a healthy eating diet and work out for one hour a day, six days a week.

The results in week one were:

My weight reduced steadily daily from 162 lbs. on January 1, 2013 to 158 lbs. on January 6, 2013.  January 7, 2013 my weight increased to 158.8.  This is what I learned:

1.  The action item of working out everyday has provided me with an increase in energy and the ability to eat and not gain.  However, by skipping Sunday’s I woke today having gained 1/8 of a lb. and feeling stiff and tired.

When I began this productivity challenge I had not been successful in working out even three days a week.  I wondered how I would be successful in working out six days a week.  What I have found at the end of week one is:

If you are really committed to doing something YOU MUST DO IT EVERY DAY. 

So I will now be working out one hour a day seven days a week.  The benefits I am seeing from this goal being tied to my greater purpose are far too great for me to not work out everyday.

2.  The action item of eating a healthy diet apparently still needs more clarity around it.  I have not been as disciplined as I desire in this area and realize that I need to gain clarity as to why I want to eat a healthy diet and cut out the sweets.  I am still working on “will power” which we know will not sustain a committment over time.

Discipline comes through and because of an intention that is tied to a purpose.  Intentions with no clarity in purpose are just resolutions based on our idea of what we should do and what we should be.

I’ll keep you posted.

Onward & Upward My Friends,  Lisa

Thoughts?

