I HATED KATIE COURIC!

English: Katie Couric in Kabul, Afghanistan in...

English: Katie Couric in Kabul, Afghanistan in August 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One morning back in 1986, while I was getting ready for work, I had the T.V. turned on to the morning show. It was just playing in the background as I showered and dressed. I wasn’t really listening until I heard Katie Couric say:

“I just love a brisk shower in the morning!”

Please understand, in 1986 I was a young girl of 21 years of age. I was at the beginning of my professional development. Getting up at 5:30 AM to get to work by 8:00 was not my idea of a good time. When I heard her say that my head almost popped off! I thought: “Katie, now NOBODY likes getting out of their warm bed and climbing in to a cold shower at 5:00 AM…

SO SHUT UP LITTLE MISS GOODIE TWO SHOES!

To my surprise I was really mad! I never forgot her statement.

Over the years, as my awareness expanded, I realized what Katie was really saying.  She was saying that she loves to get up early and get a good start on the day. Katie must have understood at that time what I would later come to understand; the important role a good start plays in our productivity.

Twenty-seven years later I still don’t like a “brisk shower” in the morning but I love getting up early and getting a good start on my day.

Thanks Katie! I don’t hate you anymore.

Onward & Upward My Friends, Lisa

Thoughts?

