“Flakey” or Blocked?

TimemanagementWell it’s the end of the first month of my Productivity Challenge, my “experiment in human nature.” If you recall at the beginning of the year I time blocked all of the important daily action items I needed to do in order to achieve my top goals for 2013.

Today I spent some time in reflection and this is what I learned:

1. If you hate something and you are not really committed to it (committment being defined as tied to a higher purpose) you are not really going to do it. You may as well just take it off your daily agenda.

2. Even if you are committed to an action item (meaning it is truly important to you and it is tied to a purpose) you still may not achieve it. In this case you need to look at what you are doing during that time instead of the action item you had planned. This will expose what is “blocking” you. You can adjust your time blocking accordingly.

Here are two examples based on my real life experience between January 1, 2013 and January 31, 2013:

ISSUE #1: Real Estate was time blocked on my calendar every day between 3:00 PM & 6:00 PM. I was not honoring that. When I asked myself why I was not honoring that task the answer was: “I have outgrown it. It no longer brings me fulfillment. I am no longer learning. It drains me of my energy.”

SOLUTION: I moved my license to an “inactive status” and my husband has assumed the entire real estate business. I have now freed up that time to fill it with action items that will take me closer to my goal and is total alignment with my purpose and vision for my life.

ISSUE #2: Every morning from 6:00 AM to 7:00 AM I had time blocked “spiritual time.” I was not honoring that. When I looked at why that wasn’t happening consistently I realized that one of my favorite t.v. show is on during that time and I liked watching it while I was eating my breakfast. Ah-ha! There was the block!
SOLUTION: I moved my spiritual time to 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM.

These are great lessons for the first month into our productivity challenge. Looks like we are on track! We planned from the beginning to time-block our first month and make adjustments based on outcome going into month two. We’ll see how February develops! I would love to hear your experiences with the first month and what lessons you could share with us.

Onward & Upward My Friends, Lisa

2 thoughts on ““Flakey” or Blocked?

Thoughts?

