Productivity: Rule #3 – What Do You Want?

Our Vision: The Future of OD

Our Vision: The Future of OD (Photo credit: PlusDelta)

The indispensable first step to getting the things you want out of life to decide what you want.  Sounds simple doesn’t it?  Well it’s not!

Experts call this process by several similar names:  “Casting Vision, Visualization, Creating Vision, Vision exercises” and the list goes on.  One thing they all have in common is they reference “vision.”

So how do you see your vision?  These are a few of things I have done over the years with my coaches that have helped me significantly in “seeing my vision” for my life.

1.  I had to believe in the process of visualization!  One of my coaches once said:  “Olympic athletes swear by visualization exercises and, since they make it to the Olympics, I guess they must work!”  That made a lot of sense to me, so I allowed myself to move forward with logical faith and begin the visualization process.

2.  I decided that I would remove all “logic” while I was visualizing my “ideal life” so as to not start with any limitations on what I could achieve.

3.  I put myself into a place of peace and solitude away from all distractions and I relaxed.  (It was a 2 1/2 hour road trip to a little hotel in the mountains with a good writing desk.)

4.  I began to day-dream and I took notes!  During my day-dream I thought of and saw myself living my dream in the following areas:

My Personal Relationships

My Career Path

My Finances

My Health & Fitness

My Fun Time (Free-Time)

During this process I began to see myself living a perfect day.  I did not worry about “how” I was going to accomplish any of it at this point.  I just dreamed!

I saw myself really healthy.  I was happy in my relationships with my friends and family.  I saw myself working as a trainer and a speaker.  I saw my audience and could feel the energy in the room!  I saw the home I lived in and the vacations we went on and the financial freedom we enjoyed.

With this vision I began to see all the details… what I was wearing, the floor plan of our home, the temperature of the water on our vacations, and I wrote them all down.  It added clarity to my desires and made my destination more exciting!  I wrote through positive affirmations (“I am”) statements a vision of a perfect day in my life five years from now.

This life vision was not a two-day event.  It was a process that took several uninterrupted weekend trips to go deeper and flesh it out.  Each time I focused on my vision I saw it in more detail and my confidence in my ability to achieve it grew.  It put me in touch with what I wanted to be, do and have.

Through being able to visualize myself already living my dreams I gained confidence in my ability to achieve them and I begin the process of making the necessary changes in my life to move into them.

Visualization… it works!  Onward & Upward My Friends, Lisa

One thought on “Productivity: Rule #3 – What Do You Want?

  1. Pingback: 3 Minutes of Regret | Productivity Challenge 2013

Thoughts?

