Pardon Me, While I Interrupt Your Rudeness!

RudenessHave you ever been moving through your day with a high level of intentionality and tons of positive energy only to find yourself suddenly thrown into someone elses drama?  What do you do?  My first response is to flee! Everybody who knows me knows I don’t like drama in any of its nasty forms:  Gossip, lack of communication, negative assumptions, victim mentality, stubborn lack of cooperation, being easily offended, passive aggressive behaviors… and the list literally goes on forever!

What causes this negative behavior?  My opinion is a lack of awareness.  You can tell a persons level of awareness by the amount of drama they either bring to life or participate in.

So what do you when you find yourself in this uncomfortable position?  I think the key is to first increase your own level of awareness.   As we do, we become better equipped to give grace to others, and are less inclined to participate in the drama behaviors.  During our growth, we realize that we are not right and they are not wrong, but our perspectives are just different.  We understand that even though we see the issue in a completely different reality, their reality is their truth.  They really do believe what they believe!

Lately I am practicing resisting the urge to flee.   Afterall, if I flee, doesn’t that make it all about me?  I mean if we remove ourselves from the situation we can stop “dealing with that person” but we also have now closed the door of opportunity to help them grow.

I meet them where they are… at their level of awareness.  I listen intently to their drama and seek to understand.  While they are spilling everything in a highly charged, emotional way, I calmly and unemotionally listen for questions I can ask them (when they are done with their rant) to help them self discover other, more constructive ways to view the circumstances and rise out of the drama.

Afterall, isn’t that what life is about?  Paying it forward?  Being rivers not reservoirs?  Letting things flow through us not just to us?  It was through this process I grew in my level of awareness and through this process we can assist others to grow theirs!  Eventually we’ll all be equipped to rise above the drama.  Abolish Drama!

Onward & Upward My Friends, Lisa

Thoughts?

