Who Are You? Really… Do YOU even know?

Having grown up in an environment that was not conducive to the development of a positive self-image or self-esteem; I understand first hand the importance of both.  Self Image and Self-Esteem are often considered one in the same when in fact they are two very different concepts. Self Image is how you view yourself.  Self esteem is how you feel about yourself.  It is possible to view yourself in a positive way; being aware of your talents and abilities but to feel negatively about your worthiness, integrity or capacity.

A negative self-image or esteem will stop us dead in our tracks when striving for any level of achievement.  When asked, employers state what they are most seeking are individuals who are capable, confident and good with people.  A positive self-image and self-esteem are the corner-stone of both.

I love this video starring a lead character “Marcel” who has both a positive self-image and self-esteem.  I have shared it with every teenager I know and many friends who sometimes struggle with a negative view or opinion of themselves.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VF9-sEbqDvU

What a great message she sends when she says “compared to what?”

All throughout my childhood I never felt very loveable or capable.  As I grew up I started to question where some of my beliefs about myself had come from.  What I discovered was: Not only could I not prove my beliefs about myself but I could disprove them!  I went from an insecure, disengaged young woman to a confident go-getter almost in the blink of an eye!

What that experience taught me is you are what you think you are!  You can achieve or not achieve whatever you think you can.

If you are in a place seeking to expand your level of awareness and create a new reality for yourself (as I did) ask yourself these questions:

1.  What do I believe about myself?  Write it down.

2.  Where did that believe come from?

3.  Is it true?  (PROVE IT)  You will be surprised how often you can’t!

4.  Once you cannot prove it; disprove it… then replace the old story with a new belief and anchor that belief with proof.  You’ll be surprised how easy it will be.

It is possible to change your story, but only you can.  I know!  I changed mine!

Onward & Upward My Friends, Lisa

3 thoughts on “Who Are You? Really… Do YOU even know?

  1. Pingback: How Wrong Is Your Self-Image? | Inspired Every Moment

Thoughts?

